Fitright Racing Turkey Trot (4 miler)

After a week’s recovery from my first 5K in which I medalled, I began training in earnest. I was planning on doing the inaugural Louisiana Quarter Marathon in Baton Rouge that January and started off with just seeing if I could walk the distance in a decent amount of time. In the early days of my fitness journey I did that a lot in an attempt to prove to myself that I could make the distance before I would sign up for the event.

092414-turkey-trot-flyer-copyMy first medal had inspired me to realize that I could actually get things in addition to the sense of accomplishment of finishing these races. On that high, I signed up for the Turkey Trot in Monroe that was put on by Fit Right. I thought it would be a nice way to offset the feasting of Thanksgiving Day with a run prior to the days activities. I had gotten to where I was doing about 3-5 brisk walks a week as I attempted to shed the weight and get faster. Reality had not yet set in that my medal was a third place out of three in an age group.

For a race on a holiday morning, I remember there being a considerable number of people there nonetheless (between the 2 mile and 4 mile races, there were over 400 people competing). This was way larger than anything I had experienced up until this point.

I ended up finishing as 214 out of 225 competitors and dead last in my age group. Despite all the mantras of “Dead Last beasts DNF which beats DNS” or “Whether it’s a 7 minute mile or a 14 minute mile, it’s still a mile.”, I was completely irrationally disappointed in myself. I had thought myself better than I was at that point having lost 20 pounds and having received a medal at my last race. The other insult added to my pride’s injury was that I got nothing for this race. Being a late registrant, I didn’t even get a t-shirt for my efforts. I knew in the future I was going to have to carefully consider races if I was going to complete one a month so as to avoid this added disappointment on top of being patient with myself to get stronger, leaner, and faster.turkey_trot_2014

On the other hand, I should be grateful for this race because it really got me started looking for races in which you got an award for simply finishing that would eventually lead to my desire to see how far I could go and ultras.

Time: 51:36.0

Pace: 13:04/mile

Weight at time of race: 300-305 lbs.

Source: Garmin Connect

Leave a Reply

