My first unofficial half marathon

Following the ensuing disappointment and depression after my second race after getting serious, I decided to fight back the darkness with a big long run. I had completed over six miles in a run up to this point and decided to just go and see how far I could go. As the run continued and I speed walked my demons, I noticed I was getting close to 10+ miles and decided to go for a half marathon’s worth of distance. It was a big mental and motivational victory that told me I could do it even if in hindsight it was very ill-advised to jump out after such a big distance with so little training under my belt.

first_half

Time: 3:19:12

Pace: 15:04/mile

Weight at time of run: 297-304 lbs.

Source: Garmin Connect

Leave a Reply

