Jingle Bell Jog 5K

So after my Turkey Trot and first unofficial half back in November, I had gone looking for a nearby race the weekend that my brother was going to be in Jackson on a consulting trip. I thought it would be really cool now that I was on this fitness journey to do a run with him (even though I still couldn’t really run yet). His wife, Barbara, was going to be with him and so before I knew it, all four of us were entered in this 5K for the first weekend of December:

jbj_flyer

The main things I remembered about this race were how my brother stayed with me and encouraged me the whole way through. Barbara did the same for Lee Ann. We were also surprised at the finish line with a large jingle bell for every race finisher! I also remember jbj_2014being surprised by the difficulty of the hilly terrain on the northern side of Jackson. This would not be the last time I would have to contend with the hills surrounding that city.

With that race, I finished up the 2014 year with mostly training runs and a commitment between me and four of my friends to complete the 2,015 in 2015 challenge. Now that I think of it, it was kinda crazy to commit to that 2015 challenge as I was supposed to be the anchor for the team/group and since I had started my fitness journey I had only logged about 225 miles total in 4 months.

Time: 40:39

Pace: 13:03/mile

Weight at time of race: 300-302 lbs.

Source: Garmin Connect

Leave a Reply

