Jingle Bell Run 5K

 

I ran this one on a whim after a co-worker of my wife suggested we just go do it. I had been running really seriously since the Space Coast Marathon after Thanksgiving and shouldn’t have been too surprised at the results. I actually averaged a pretty good pace through the first mile at 8:27 but it was probably a bit too fast as I had slowed to 10:00+ minute miles by midway. The course came out to be a bit longer based on what my Garmin had recorded at nearly 3.4 miles by the time I crossed the finish line.

I got in sort of a self-deprecating funk following the first time in a long time that I was over 30 minutes for a 5K. However, it wasn’t like I had been training for short distance speed either. In fact, the amount of time before I actually posted this ended up revealing my hiatus from race reports after such.

Time: 31:29

Pace: 10:05/mile

Weight at time of race: 239-241 lbs.

Source: Garmin Connect

Leave a Reply

